Buttons Diapers Giveaway!

00243-1-logoImage
As a giveaway junkie I’m excited to be on the hosting end of my first giveaway. I reached out to the manufacturer of my favorite cloth diaper, Buttons, and she graciously agreed to give one of my readers a Buttons cover and insert of their choice. I knew long before I got pregnant, heck, long before I even had a boyfriend, that I would cloth diaper any future kids. This may very well be the first of many posts on it, brace yourself, but to me it just didn’t make sense to use disposables. Cloth is cheaper, better for the environment, cuter, safer for baby, and though peopl who’ve never done it may have apprehensions, I think it’s actually easier. We never have that ‘oh shoot!’ moment at 10pm when we realize we’re out of diapers. We don’t have to worry about spending $50+ a month for a box. Is that even an appropriate guess? My other son is 10, it’s been a long time since I had to buy disposable diapers!

I lucked out having a couple of great friends who gave me some cloth diapers to try out different types and brands. It can be an intimidating world. But I’ll go nitty gritty into it all in another post. This post is all about the Buttons. I did not receive any free Buttons diapers from the sponsor (or anyone else, lol) to do this review. I approached her about a giveaway because of all the kinds I’ve gotten to try these are my favorites for 3 reasons: simplicity, cost, customer service. Well, and they’re cute, that little embroidered button on the butt.

Buttons are an AI2, read: all-in-two, system. There is a shellΒ  or cover and an insert. Here’s the blurb from the Buttons site describing their system:

“Our one-size diaper covers can snap to fit babies from 9-35 lbs, and are made of 2 layers of soft wipeable PUL with double gussets around the legs. Our snap-in diaper inserts are soft and absorbant, and come in two sizes…Elastic at the back and tummy makes a custom fit.”

“Our daytime inserts are made of 4 layers of absorbent micro fiber, with a luxuriously soft layer of fleece on top. Buttons cloth inserts snap into our one-size diapers covers. Plus, they come in 2 sizes for your growing baby (small fits babies 9-20 lbs., large fits babies 20-35 lbs.).”

“Our nighttime doublers have 6 wonderful layers of micro fiber, for extra absorbency, and work as a doubler with Buttons daytime inserts snapped on top. Buttons cloth inserts snap right into our one-size diapers covers. Plus, they come in 2 sizes for your growing baby (small fits babies 9-20 lbs., large fits babies 20-35 lbs.) *Note: the nighttime doubler is made to be used with our daytime insert snapped on top. Only the daytime insert has a top layer of soft moisture-wicking fleece to keep baby’s skin dry.”

I’ve now tried diapers from many major brands: AppleCheeks, Kissaluvs, Rumparooz, Smart Snugs, GroVia, Thirsties, Happy Heineys,BumGenius, and a couple WAHM made ones, which I really liked. I’ve also tried some of the so-called “Chinese Cheapies”: Sunbabies, Alva, Kawaii, Babyland, Baby Wizard, THX. Buttons is my favorite among them all. I recently decided to get rid of all the others that I’ve bought and replace them with Buttons via some Amazon gift cards I got using Swagbucks.

The review:

The most appealing part of Buttons to me is the simplicity. No stuffing pockets, no waiting forever for all-in-ones to dry. No elaborate folding/rolling routines with flats. I tried each of these things. Snap the insert in, put it on. I love that I don’t have to pre-setup all the diapers for other people to be able to change the baby, either. It’s too simple. No more worrying if I ever got all the pockets stuffed before the next wash day. No, I didn’t. I almost never did. Put them together on the fly which would lead to my dear husband putting an empty pocket on the baby. Oops. And it’s one step in putting it on. Baby is too wiggly for putting on a fitted and then a cover.

The second most appealing point is cost. These are good quality diapers, and yet the price is a good median price: $12-$13 per cover, 3 inserts for $10.50. And you can get by with only a few covers per day, I usually only need 2-3, occasionally 4. Because you reuse the same cover all day until it gets soiled. As in…dirty. Wet is OK. We even use Buttons at night with the doublers. No tricky night time routine, these are the only ones not leaking on us during the 12 hour night time stretch. No, my almost 5 month old doesn’t sleep 12 hours straight, but it sure helps him sleep better that I don’t change him each time he wakes to nurse.

Third is absorbency. These inserts are thick and dense, but very soft with the fleece on top. He never feels like he’s been sitting in a wet diaper, even after the aforementioned 12 hour night. I did have to wait a while to use these with him, as he was less than 7lbs at birth. But by month two and under 9lbs he fit them OK on their tightest setting without overlapping the wings, shortest rise.

Buttons

And here is today at 12lbs, this is with the nighttime doubler in. It does make for a very fluffy thick bum, but it works!

Buttons 4

To enter this giveaway you’ll need to go to my Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/midwestcrunch and click the giveaway tab.

Here’s a mobile friendly link: http://bit.ly/1lXbgvp

And please visit Buttons Diapers at: www.buttonsdiapers.com,
On Facebook: www.Facebook.com/ButtonsDiapers
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Buttons_Diapers
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/buttonsdiapers/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/ButtonsDiapers

Check them out! I hope you like them as much as we do.

16 thoughts on “Buttons Diapers Giveaway!

  1. My son is due any day now and I somehow missed hearing about Buttons Diapers! We’ve decided to use prefolds/covers for the first few months, but these look like a very simple option for after he outgrows those. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have my first baby girl coming in November (After 2 boys) I think these might actually be an AI2 that my husband would be willing to use! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I just bought one of these to try and oh my do I love it!! My husband wanted only AI1s. But After he tried the buttons diapers he decided they would be a great diaper to start our stash with! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I haven’t gotten to try them yet, as I am at a place in my stash that i just cannot buy more right now. However, I would like to try them, and my daughter, at twelve, has also decided she will CD, so it is time to start building her stash, I guess πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I have tried Buttons and they were a little snug on my chubby baby. Hoping when she slims down we can try them again. We never had a leak with Buttons!

    Like

Leave a Reply

